What? Me old? No way.

I saw the above sign recently and it really tickled me. In my mid-60s I’m reminded daily that my body is not as young as it once was. New aches and pains interfere with activities, age spots suddenly show up that weren’t there yesterday, and brain fog is constantly keeping me from finding my car keys.

Perhaps you can relate.

While I sometimes want to fight the inevitable, I also (most times) graciously accept help when offered. A discount on an attraction ticket? Sure, I’ll take it. A shorter distance to throw the disc in disc golf? Don’t mind if I do. And preference in sitting up front? Why certainly…if you insist.

That’s why the above sign hit my funny bone. Out walking for a bit of exercise, it appears that some places are letting you know ahead of time there’s an easier path reserved just for you.

But while life may offer accommodations, I don’t see that in God’s word. In fact, we are admonished to stay on course and finish well. “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith” (2 Timothy 4:7).

So, let me encourage you today that you can make it. There’s no need to take the “old timers” trail. Keep on fighting, continue heading toward your finish line, and stay strong in your faith.

Mimi

3 thoughts on “What? Me old? No way.

  1. Now I know where I have seen that sign….and you have outstanding and great biblical insite. 🔍

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

