Hmm, where did that peanut butter and ketchup go?

mindwanderSo you can probably tell by the photo above that we’re going to talk today about “losing our minds!!!”

I’m not sure when the little slip-ups began…late 40s, 50s? Now in my 60s I definitely continue to experience little senior moments. I suspect you, do, too.

The latest involved not one but TWO condiments. I had purchased a BOGO peanut butter at the local store. The deal was so good to buy one/get one that I even took back to Target the jar of peanut butter I had purchased previously. After all, empty nesters in their 60s don’t need THREE jars of peanut butter. I remember being at the store and picking out the two jars, paying for them, and I thought I remembered putting them away when I got home.

Until the day hubby decided he wanted a PB&J for lunch and couldn’t find either of the jars. With a big eye-roll I marched to the pantry to get it for him. Hmm, neither jar was there. And from that moment on, at least three times I opened every cabinet, looked through every pantry shelf, and foraged through my garage storage cabinets as well as my car trunk. And I did this the next day and the next. I know I bought that stuff but where was it? In the meantime, hubby made a ham sandwich (probably now rolling his own eyes).

That, of course, got me thinking about the ketchup. I remembered using the last of it, putting it on my shopping list, and yes, I remember picking up a bottle at Walmart. Or did I really remember? So I looked and sure enough, no ketchup. And that’s because it’s probably with the peanut butter!

Next shopping trip found me buying peanut butter and ketchup that were not on sale. Oh that hurt; that really hurt.

So am I really losing my mind or experiencing early onset Alzheimer’s disease? Most likely not. Life is hectic at times and most likely I was in a hurry and simply left the jars of peanut butter at the store or in my shopping cart. Same with the ketchup.

But if you’re anything like me, as we age and experience these senior moments, we worry and wonderful just how normal it is to forget and misplace. Our peace vanishes and we grow concerned and fearful.

What’s the answer: It’s found in Philippians 4:6-7:  Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Hmm, where did that peanut butter and ketchup go?

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

