Gentle reminders bring big smiles.

01-02-2017-acorn

Recently while walking outside and talking with God, I felt a little something fall on my shoulder…an acorn. The timing was perfect. Because to me it was a whisper from God that He was right there and had heard every word I said. It was as if that acorn was God’s gentle reminder that He is always with me. And that little revelation made me smile.

As we look ahead toward 2017 I hope I will purpose in my heart to be on the lookout for more of God’s reminders and I hope that I can find my own gentle ways of reminding others that I care.

Sometimes we think we need to do something on a grand scale to bless others, but often it’s the little everyday things that speak the loudest. A text or phone call, cookies brought to a neighbor, a greeting card sent for no particular reason.

Often it’s a kind word or compliment that takes us by surprise and makes our heart glad. When returning from England, a flight attendant told me how much she liked my hair. The color? The style? I have no idea and it didn’t really matter. What mattered is that she took the time to tell me and just like the little acorn on my shoulder, it made me smile.

Proverbs 16:24 (NLT) reminds us that “Kind words are like honey—sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.”

So let’s look for ways to bless others in the coming year, remembering it doesn’t take much; it just takes being purposeful in looking for the many daily opportunities presented to us. Perhaps we can make a difference in someone’s life just by showing the love of Christ.

How about you? Have you recently had a smile put on your face by someone else’s love or thoughtfulness?

Mimi

3 thoughts on “Gentle reminders bring big smiles.

  1. I feel like I have just had a face to face conversation with you and it makes me miss you! Keep the encouraging words coming–the world needs them!

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

