Life has a way of surprising you.

flickr.com

flickr.com

As you know from my April post, I’ve joined my husband in retirement. While I worried for months about what I’d do with my days, let me just say that those who encouraged me to not stress about it were right. When I don’t make plans there’s always something to do. And when I do make them, they usually end up changing.

For the first week and a half, this grandma could be found reorganizing closets, cabinets, and the pantry. To some this would be an all-day affair but since I’m just a tad OCD, truth be told they were already relatively organized. No, I don’t alphabetize my pantry but the cans are indeed in one place and the boxes in another. And yes, they are also separated by category such as baking, side dishes, veggies, and fruits. (I know…it’s a sickness.)

Hubby and I also enjoyed some extra time together doing puzzles, walking, and reading a devotional each day while at the same time we respected each other’s alone time.

So far so good.

With a three-week car trip getting closer we began organizing the daily drives, planning our stops along the way, and generally looking forward to our first retirement event. All that was put on hold, however. Why? Because life happens.

Unfortunately, my mom got sick. Though the car trip has been postponed, what a joy to know the hubster and I have nothing but time on our hands to travel back and forth as needed to care not only for Mom but to offer support to her caretaker, too…my dad. My parents cared for me for two decades. It’s a most beautiful privilege to now be able to be there for them.

The good news: Mom is getting better and we will continue to make trips south until she’s back to her feisty self.

The lesson: As writer Allen Saunders said “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

And I’m okay with that. We didn’t know Mom would get sick. But the plans we made for our car trip cleared our calendars and has provided us ample opportunity to visit and be available in a way that wouldn’t have been possible otherwise.

Oh yes, I’ll keep on making plans. After all, I just can’t seem to get to bed without tomorrow’s to-do list sitting on my counter and I certainly can’t shop for food without making a two-week menu and writing out that all-important shopping list. But I won’t let the plans run my life. I’ll use them as assistive devices only and continue learning to enjoy the moment and allow life to happen…even when it’s not on anyone’s list!

Mimi

One thought on “Life has a way of surprising you.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

