Retired! Who me?

Yup, my last day of work was April 1 so I’ve just finished up my first week of retired life and so far so good.

The decision was made in January and for the past few months I’ve been really conflicted. Not about the decision; no, it was definitely the right time. But mostly about the “what now?” I’d wake up at night and wonder what I’d do all day if I didn’t go to work. I’d wonder if I would end up wasting time and accomplishing nothing since I no longer had a schedule to keep. And I’d wonder if hubby and I would grow tired of seeing each other 24/7.

While there are still no answers to any of the above, one very interesting thing happened. On April 1, my last work day, I woke up feeling different. Feeling settled. Feeling happy. All the emotional ups and downs were gone. Oh, the questions remain but there’s no longer the fear of the unknown. In fact, there’s mostly anticipation at what is ahead.

As you may have surmised by my musings, I’m a child of God and as such endeavor to follow His lead rather than asking Him to bless mine. But even when I clearly hear His voice and follow His plan, there can still be questions or concerns. And simply put, that’s because I don’t have foresight as He does; I have to totally trust God even when I have no idea what the future holds. So though Greg and I both know this was God’s plan and His timing, and though I try to walk by faith and not by what I see or experience, I have still felt a little uneasy. Thankfully, God knows this and often spoke to me through the Word, through His voice, and through Greg reassuring me over and over again that this was the right time.

So far, I’ve simply enjoyed not having to get up with an alarm, staying in my jammies longer, taking morning walks rather than evening walks when it’s still in the upper 80s, and being able to do a lot of things during the day that normally would be done at night or on the weekend. I’ve even accompanied Greg to one of his Lifelong Learning classes at Stetson where we are getting lots of travel ideas both domestic and international.

On the horizon? A car trip, more time spent with my parents, time with the grands who live two hours away, volunteer activities, learning new skills, and exploring new hobbies. And then planning out some of the great travel ideas we’ve picked up in class.

For now, my weekly babysitting day remains so I hope to continue sharing some Mimi stories, but even that will change in August when the four-year old begins pre-K. And that means that after seven years of watching the boys one day a week, more changes are in store. I’ll always be Mimi, and I’ll always be available to watch my grands, but it will be like another graduation for me as that very precious part of my life comes to an end and I turn again toward more new beginnings.

Hmm, it actually all sounds kind of exciting, doesn’t it?

So after one week of retired life, all is well. I promise to keep you posted. Meanwhile, I rejoice in this (from Jeremiah 29:11): “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Mimi

One thought on “Retired! Who me?

  1. More time for…planning a trip to see my friends in NEW JERSEY! Congratulations, again. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer gal!

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

