The Family Tree

Two weeks ago today was my sister’s 62nd birthday. Two weeks ago Monday was Labor Day…the day my sister passed away and her battle with multiple myeloma came to an end.

In the past two weeks I’ve found myself thinking about life…and death…more than I have in the past. Losing someone and coming face to face with the reality of not seeing them again in this lifetime is very sobering.

You take a hard look at what matters. You re-prioritize. You find yourself saying “I love you” much more frequently. You find yourself hoping you’ve said and done things that make a difference. You realize life is so much shorter than you’ve thought in the past. You decide to make changes you’ve been putting off. You determine that moving forward things will be different.

There are probably a million other things I’ve pondered over the past few weeks, especially in the dark of night with the house quiet—the perfect time to reflect. Haven’t necessarily come to any earth-shattering conclusions but this I do know. Family matters.

It’s not the size of the house, the amount in the bank, whether or not you have fancy jewels to wear, or if you’re driving the latest, greatest car. Nope, for me it’s all about the fam.

With my sister in the hospital and very little room for any extras, we came up with a fun idea that would represent the family…something she could hang on the wall and look at to remind her of us. Sadly, that won’t be happening, but the idea is a good one and I think we’ll make it a tradition, perhaps each Christmas. Over time we’ll be able to look back to see how many more “leaves” we’ve added to our family tree as what are now little hands grow into bigger ones.

Welcome to part of our family tree.

Mimi

Kate & Pop Pop work on the family tree.

Kate & Pop Pop work on the family tree.

Mimi adds her own "leaves" to the tree.

Mimi adds her own “leaves” to the tree.

4 thoughts on “The Family Tree

  1. I love how you turned the sadness to a positive, practical exercise that can be doable and be treasured by all.

    You are so very creative, Cindi!!

    janetperezecklespix (101×130)

    Janet Perez Eckles,

    Grateful for the privilege of inspiring you…

    My website in English

    En Español

    My story (video)

    Inspirational video just for you.

    • I appreciate the feedback. One thing my sister (a psychologist) taught me is that we all grieve in our own ways in our own time. There is no right or wrong way to do this. It has helped in the past and is once again helping now as I’ve been turning my sorrow into looking ahead and making changes that really matter.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss, Cindi. As an oncology nurse, I know all too well the pain your family is dealing with. I’m sure your sister knew how much you loved her. What a great idea to make a family tree that grows with each passing year. I always tell my kids “let’s make a memory!” That is what I hope to leave with everyone I love….a cherished and treasured memory that brings a smile to them when I not with them. My deepest sympathies to all of you. Love, Barb

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

