On turning 60.

60 years. Me. 60 years! How did that happen?

It’s been nearly two months now but on Christmas day I turned 60.

I’m not re why, but for some reason we put a lot of emphasis on becoming a number that ends in a 0 or a 5…with the biggest emphasis on the zero-ending ones.

I know a zero marks the end of a decade but is being 60 really a bigger deal than being 59 or 61? At some point it’s just plain nice to mark a birthday, any birthday, as a reminder that we’re still here.

I don’t want to wait for a “big” year to appreciate someone. I want to celebrate the lives of those around me every year, every month, every day. I want those I’m connected with to feel loved and valued every single day they draw breath.

And now for the nitty gritty: I don’t feel a bit different. I don’t feel older. I don’t have more aches and pains. In fact, nothing much has changed. I can’t draw Social Security, I don’t even think I get any additional senior discounts (I’ve been getting them for years). Turning 60 doesn’t make me feel any more mature like turning 30 did. Now that was a great year because I finally felt like others would see me as a grown-up! And turning 60 doesn’t even make me think more about end of life issues. It was really just another day.

But I did get one very special gift that truly means the world to me—a book of memories from friends and family. It was daughter Kate’s idea’s and I’m assuming with her dad’s help she hijacked my email address book and wrote to my loved ones inviting them to send her a memory about me. She lovingly compiled them into a beautiful book complete with photos. I was so moved in just receiving it that I couldn’t even read it for a good week because the tears would start that minute I glanced at it.

Finally, a week or so after receiving the book, I opened the pages planning to read just a few notes each night. I ended up reading them all! They made me laugh, cry, sigh, and they even made me remember things I had long forgotten. And to me each one was a love note sent from the heart of the writer straight to my own.

Cindi Turns 60

Cindi Turns 60

In the photo here you’ll note a picture of the actual book, a close-up of the book’s cover photo (yes, that’s me), and a copy of the title page inside.

A great big thank you to each one who took the time to share a memory or two, and a very special thank you to my precious daughter for all the effort and time that went into it but more importantly for the love behind it.

Mimi

One thought on “On turning 60.

  1. Hey sweet Cindi…I think the greatest gift the Lord has also given you is the wisdom to be the kind of Mom to instill such deep love in Katie…to go to that level to honor you!

    How thoughtful of her…

    Few Moms have that!!

    Rejoicing with you for such sweetness…

    janetperezecklespix (101×130)

    Janet Perez Eckles,

    Grateful for the privilege of inspiring you…

    My website in English

    En Español

    My story (video)

    Inspirational video just for you.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

