Okay…okay…okay

Okay

I have a totally agreeable 2-1/2 year old. It doesn’t seem to matter what I suggest; the answer is always “Okay.” Now I wish I could record this dear little voice because there’s just no adequate way I can describe it to you but it’s so precious to me. It’s not a joy-filled “Okay” where the inflection rises at the end. And it’s certainly not a down-in-the-dumps-we-have-to-do-what-Mimi-says “Okay” either. It’s more like an Eeyore “Okay.” And I LOVE it.

Callan, let’s get pancakes…okay.
Callan, let’s do school work…okay.
Callan, time to eat lunch…okay.
Callan, time to clean up…okay. (Gotta throw in that one every now and then.)

I often wonder about his easy-going demeanor and agreeableness. He’s the second child with No. 1 being very outgoing and at times direction-giving (after all, he IS the older of the two). That might have something to do with it.

His daddy is laid back and agreeable, too. That could definitely have something to do with it.

Or most probably it’s because this is just how God created him to be.

My hubby has a very similar nature. It’s a nature that invites friendship. It says I’m dependable, I’m kind, I’m helpful, I’m happy with the status quo. And overall, it says it doesn’t take much to make me happy. And that’s a good thing—being easy to please.

So sharing a plate of pancakes at McDonald’s while watching the fish swim in the big tank: made the little guy happy. Running errands while listening to his favorite CD for the umpteenth time: made him happy. Holding hands with his Mimi in the Wal-Mart parking lot while shopping for new sunglasses for him? Yup, that made him happy, too. And finally, visiting the nearby pet store for 30 minutes of touching kitty cats through the little hole in their enclosure, talking with the birds, petting the walrus dog (I’m not making this one up…it’s called a whelping water dog, or walrus), and even pushing his nose against the bearded dragon tank made him happy, too.

It seemed yesterday was a pure delight to him. Everything about it. It all made him happy. Didn’t matter what we did, how grand or how small, everything about the day made him happy. And that, of course, made me think about the verses we find in Philippians 4:11-12 (The Message):

I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.

Father in Heaven, may I have a simple, happy, agreeable heart like Callan’s. One that’s able to take joy in every moment of the day and find content in all circumstances simply because You are the one who makes me who I am.

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Okay…okay…okay

  1. Oh I love this. My two year old grandson is the same… everything is “okay?” with a sweet lilt on the end of it. Not that he waits for an answer but just moves forward at his break-neck pace assuming the answer is yes. lol

  2. Wow! We should all be that way…life would be so much simpler for us ant those around us.

    What a brilliant illustration, Cindi. Thanks!!

    janetperezecklespix (101×130)

    Janet Perez Eckles,

    Grateful for the privilege of inspiring you…

    My website in English

    En Español

    My story (video)

    Inspirational video just for you.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

