It’s not easy saying goodbye.

Conan-dear friend and family member

Conan: dear friend and family member

Quite unexpectedly my daughter’s family recently had to say goodbye to their dear companion of ten years, Conan.

A family member? Yes. A friend? Yes. A comfort? Yes. A playmate? Yes. A big brother? Yes. And a dog; a miniature dachshund to be specific.

My kids will be married ten years this fall and Conan has been a part of their married lives almost from the beginning. When they got him they were newlyweds, recent college graduates, living in their first apartment, and trying to make a “go” of this thing called life.

Conan brought joy and activity in abundance.

After he arrived the kids made a move, earned advanced degrees, began new careers, bought a house, and best of all had two precious boys.

When someone is a part of your family for a decade and when children grow up only knowing the household with their canine friend in it, losing that friend leaves a deep hole. A wound that takes time to heal.

Was Conan perfect? Of course not, but he perfectly blended with his family, providing years of love to everyone.

So today I’m thinking about him and thinking about my kids and grandkids. And while I can’t take away their sorrow I know hearts will eventually heal. And always, always they will remember their little doxie Conan.

Mimi

7 thoughts on “It’s not easy saying goodbye.

  1. Conan looks like such a lovely dog. I want to get a pet so badly, but my biggest concern is getting so attached and having to deal with a loss. I hope to have such a loving relationship as Conan did with his family 🙂

    • What a sweet note. I’m sharing this with my daughter. And I completely understand your concerns about attachment. You WILL get attached and it WILL be sad when you, too, have to say goodbye. But the glories of life with a pet far outweigh the sorrow. Mimi

      • Reading this makes me want one even more. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your kind words. If you want to read some funny and inspirational stories about my life, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe.

  2. We had dachsie’s growing up…two wonderfully beloved dogs. Conan will be missed, that’s for sure…they all are. Prayers for healing and perhaps getting a new dog after a while, when the time is right. XO

  3. Your title says it all. So sorry that the family has lost a member. We are expecting the 14-year-old “Lady” will not be with B&B’s family much longer. She is still getting acquainted with a new house and mostly lies in just the place you need to walk or stand. She arrived a year ahead of Tyler; so it will be quite a change when it finally happens.Having lived through Phil’s and Brian’s moves, we’re now in recovery mode…happily. Just when we think summer has come, we have a day like this one where the temps are struggling to get to 60 degrees and it’s raining. It better stop before our plants rot. Friday and Saturday were washouts.

  4. Hi Mimi–we, too, had a miniature dachshund. She was really precious when she was tiny. It is very hard to lose a pet. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’m glad your Mom started using the sugar/creamer set. I think my Mom got rid of much too much in her last years or she allowed others to get rid of stuff for her. I think it made her decline faster. She passed away two years ago at 95.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

