“I do it, Mimi.”

That’s just what the nearly two-year-old stated Monday when he wanted to use the ipad I held in my hands. New to the ipad experience, Callan is just a bit rough so it’s definitely something that must be done with an adult until he learns the proper finger swipe finesse.

English: An image of an iPad 2.

English: An image of an iPad 2. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I chuckled at his resolve and resourcefulness in trying to obtain the goal as he clambered over the arm of the recliner right into my lap. He wasn’t going to give up! And while he was resolutely trying to achieve the coveted prize, you’d better believe I used the opportunity to get in an extra snuggle.

We raise our children to be independent so listening to Callan confidently state, “I do it, Mimi” shows me he’s growing up and learning new things. Yet this sense of independence is actually contrary to what God has in mind for his family. We are sons and daughters who need Him. But we often echo Callan with similar statements such as “It’s okay; I can do it on my own. I don’t need you God. In fact I don’t need anyone.”

I thought about my own kids and how we rejoiced as they matured and started making their own decisions. Greg and I found ourselves more and more in the hands-off position, though always available should they need us.

So often this is what we do with God – we become independent of him and at times rely on him as nothing more than a safety net. But God is looking for so much more than this; he’s after a relationship with us. One where we are completely dependent on him.

Our greatest example of this is Jesus. “I tell you the truth; the Son can do nothing alone. The Son does only what he sees the Father doing, because the Son does whatever the Father does” (John 5:19). And later on in John 15:5 he declares “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.”

It is definitely not easy to live a life dependent on God. I’ve been a believer for 45 years and I’m still learning this. But with Jesus as my example, my heart’s cry is “less of me and more of you God.”

Mimi

5 thoughts on ““I do it, Mimi.”

  1. Very true! We need to learn to listen to His voice and follow Him rather then just treating Him like a safety net. Well said.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

