Is anybody listening?

Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

Today I had the wonderful opportunity of assisting two people on their way to blogging success.

While teaching my recent blogging class it became quickly evident that I was learning as much if not more than my students—both about blogging and about using WordPress. It also became apparent that I was thoroughly enjoying both the learning and the teaching.

Since the class ended I’ve had many opportunities to sit one-on-one with my former students, assisting with their blogging efforts. And it is extraordinarily rewarding. I guess this is why teachers are teachers. I had no idea how much joy I would receive from simply helping someone find a way to express their thoughts in a public forum.

One of the students today observed that when you take the time to post and no one comments on it, it can be quite a let-down. It makes you wonder if anybody is reading your posts or if anybody even cares what you write about.

I giggled inside because I’ve felt the same way. On one hand blogging is about you—YOU getting to express your views or share information and yet on the other hand we all like to know we’ve been heard. So when you take the time to post something, especially something you think is important, and no one responds back it can be very discouraging.

And this brings me to a few of my own observations: (1) sometimes people read your blogs and don’t comment. They may even agree with you or like what you had to say. But they don’t feel a pressing need to let you know. (2) Sometimes people aren’t reading your blog at all. Hhhmmph! Not much you can do about it except to keep writing, hone your skill, be engaging and if people still don’t read, they just may not be interested in what you have to say. It really isn’t the end of the world. (3) Since encouragement is always nice, I’m going to ask all you blog readers out there to post comments from time to time (not just to my blog, but to any you read). Why not take the extra minute or two and let the author know what you think. Doesn’t take a lot of time but can really be appreciated.

Maya Angelou reminds us that “A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.” So fellow bloggers – sing your song—whether or not anyone answers back. Just sing. Because you can!

Mimi

10 thoughts on “Is anybody listening?

  1. I always enjoy your posts! Especially your chocolate cake recipe, a very yummy concoction. Blogs sure have changed how we all communicate with each other…keep writing, Mimi!

  2. Cindi, I have enjoyed all your blogs ever since I joined and can relate to most of them. The one today especially–I am teaching 5 year old Michael how to play the piano. It makes me feel so good that he is enjoying it and is tickled pink with his accomplishment. He loves to give concerts for the family and anyone who wants to listen. You could easily teach your boys also. I am using the Bastien Piano Basics, Primer Level and can send you the first 8 pages if you would like.

  3. I love how you’ve extended yourself to your students far beyond the commitment you made to teach them in class. But then, that’s just what the Cindi I know would do.

  4. You are a good commenter and I really appreciate your comments. That is interesting that you teach blogging! Here’s a question you could answer for me. When someone comments on my blog, should I comment back to them on MY blog, or should I comment on THEIR blog (like I’m doing now) where I’m sure they’ll read it? I always think that if I acknowledge their comment on my blog that they won’t come back to my blog to read it. What do you think?

  5. Elizabeth asked a great question. And after research I think I will start responding via email to any comments that appear on my blog, rather than just posting a reply to their response on my blog.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

