You have small eyes, Mimi.

Cindi Blog

So observed 4-year-old Konnor on Monday.

“Why, yes I do,” I replied.

“Why do you have small eyes?”

“This is the way God made me. He made Mommy and PopPop with great big eyes, but Mimi has little ones.”

Such a sweet, innocent conversation. It’s hard to feel bad about your little one noticing you have small eyes when the conversation is just so matter of fact from a pure heart. There was no judgment in Konnor’s voice; instead he was merely observing and stating a fact.

Truth be told I DO have small eyes. And even though I had an eyelid lift nearly two years ago, my left eye started drooping after a year which gives the appearance of the eyes being even smaller than they actually are. And the reason I have droopy, small eyelids is because of my parents. (Not placing blame, just stating a fact. It’s heredity plain and simple.)

Of late, I catch myself looking over my shoulder as I pass a mirror. Sometimes leaning forward to get a closer look and often pulling up the skin over my eyebrows to see how a brow lift would take years off my appearance.

Sigh…the passing of time…the very thing that made me a grannie (growing older and having children old enough to have their own children) is also the thing that causes my face to reflect my age and my body to wince at new aches and pains that weren’t there yesterday.

We fight aging so hard: cosmetics, dyed hair (or hair transplants), pills and potions, anti-aging diets, more exercise, surgery, changing our attitudes. Nothing wrong with any of these but thankfully God sees us differently—quite differently!

He sees the passing of time coupled with the wisdom of experience and states in Psalm 92:12-14: “But the godly will flourish like palm trees and grow strong like the cedars of Lebanon. For they are transplanted to the LORD’s own house. They flourish in the courts of our God. Even in old age they will still produce fruit; they will remain vital and green” (NLT).

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day,” (2 Corinthians 4:16 (NIV).

So yes, I have small eyes, made even smaller by droopy, saggy skin. I have grey hair, LOTS of grey hair. I ache when I move about, I tire more easily in general, my brain gets a little mushy every now and then making new things harder to learn…all the typical stuff about approaching age 60.

But God is not finished with me yet. And I’m not finished with me. And I know my grands are not finished with me. According to God, if I keep my relationship with him healthy, then I’m flourishing, producing fruit, am vital and green, and am being renewed day by day.

Hmm, all in all, I’d say I’m in very good shape after all!

Mimi

4 thoughts on “You have small eyes, Mimi.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

