Brussels Sprouts are my Favorite!

So said 4-year old Konnor the other day…completely out of the blue.

We were enjoying a McDonald’s ice cream cone and chatting about nothing in particular when he sincerely stated how much he liked Brussels sprouts. What? Did I hear him correctly? So I asked “What did you say?” and he repeated that he liked the way his mommy makes Brussels sprouts.

Of course, I later told his mommy about this and she said “That’s funny. Not sure what that means since he’s never eaten them! LOL; he’s a mess.”

Back in the day, Art Linkletter (an old-time entertainer with a heart for kids) had a show entitled “Kids say the Darndest Things.” In the show he would interview kids and they would either reveal a truth people wish they wouldn’t have, or they would just start making up all sorts of outlandish stories with great embellishment. Of course, Art would egg them on the entire time so the stories became more and more grand. It was great entertainment.

Konnor told an outright lie on Monday but it was so unexpected, so funny that I saw it not as a lie but just as a cute kid-ism. Of course, the problem is that it WAS a lie. And how easy it is to do that. Easy for kids to do…easy for adults to do.

As adults we lie all the time but think it’s excusable for various reasons. We don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings, or we want to be supportive to our boss, or we are trying to impress someone, or we might say something to help us feel like we belong. And I have a feeling we’ll never run out of excuses for our lies.

The fact is that while we would all no doubt tell our children and grandchildren that lying is absolutely wrong, we often believe that as adults we have enough wisdom to know when it’s actually appropriate or acceptable to lie. We can assess situations and make good decisions to purposely avoid or not tell the truth.

Years ago I was challenged by a friend to not lie. Period. About anything. (Much easier said than done.) The challenge also included “white lies” (they are after all, still lies) and exaggeration (my biggest downfall). Exaggeration? Really? It’s a lie, too? Most indeedy.

The challenge wasn’t a two-week or one-month thing, it was a lifetime challenge. And I must admit, I still lie but it’s definitely much less than in the past and I’m also much more aware of the lies. At times I’ll say something and then almost immediately follow it up with “I’m sorry, that was a lie.” Because it was.

God tells us in Proverbs 19:1 that it’s “Better to be poor and honest than to be dishonest and a fool” (NLT) and in Proverbs 11:3 we learn “Honesty guides good people; dishonesty destroys treacherous people” (NLT).

I want to be someone others can count on. I want my words to help and not harm. I want to be a woman of integrity and I want others to be able to trust my words. Here’s my prayer to that end. Perhaps you’ll considering praying along, too: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation [thoughts] of my heart by pleasing to you, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” Psalm 19:14 NLT).

Mimi

p.s. I’m including a link to a recipe for Pan-Seared Brussels Sprouts posted by Rachel Schultz (http://rachelschultz.com/2012/12/15/pan-seared-brussels-sprouts-with-cranberries-pecans/). I have never on purpose eaten one of these but if I’m ever going to have them, this is the recipe I’ll try. Photo downloaded straight from Rachel’s website, too. Don’t they look yum!

7 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts are my Favorite!

  1. What a wonderful message, dear Cindi!! Hope you get tons of readers.

    And one that I have to be convicted upon is when I commit to pray for someone. Often, I have to do it right there and then, for fear I’d forget. A commitment to pray should be a great big test for speaking the truth and one that we can follow up.

    Sigh!

    Janet Perez Eckles, inspiring you to see the best in life.

    For inspiration and a bit of humor, watch Janet’s video: http://youtu.be/8F6OUd8aP50

    Facebook, Twitter and Youtube channel links at: http://www.janetperezeckles.com

    Hola Happiness: Finding Joy by Dancing to the Melody of God’s Word

    Available at: http://goo.gl/Enc20

  2. Wash, trim and halve fresh sprouts. Sauté in a little olive oil, sprinkle with balsamic vinegar, sea salt and fresh ground pepper. Stir in some diced cooked bacon for extra flavor. We think these are pretty tasty and we enjoy them frequently…no lie!

  3. Recipe sounds great, I have printed it off. Konner, bless his heart, probably does not even realize that he told a lie. When do kids learn this? Guess we really have to keep on top of that with kids and grandkids! Let me see, was that challenge from someone whose name starts with an “M”??

  4. Cindi, have you made Rachel’s “world’s best chicken” with dijon and rosemary? How did you get connected with her blog?

  5. I actually made the chicken dish last Monday. She likes it overcooked. I do not. I ended up cooking it longer than was necessary and found it dry but flavorful. The leftovers were used sliced on top of a salad and were great. I have only found Rachel’s recipes on Pinterest but decided to link back to her blog since I was referencing her directly. Pinterest has been a huge help in expanding my recipe choices. I had become quite bored and now I try one or two new ones a week. The Teriyaki meatballs were delicious – it’s pinned on my Dinner Just Got Better board on Pinterest.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

