Do-Overs

I’m not a big resolution person and unfortunately am also not a big goal setter. Some year I really should make a resolution to learn to set goals!

That being said, I do love do-overs. And that’s what a new year typically represents, isn’t it? I find myself looking at everything in the house with “new” eyes with the thought of reorganizing it all. Since that can be overwhelming I typically start small with drawers and closets.

This year I began by cleaning out my jewelry box and packaging up my leftovers to be sold at Gold Stash For Cash. If you haven’t used this service recommended by Dave Ramsey, check them out. I don’t have much jewelry and what I do have is mostly costume, but the first time I cleaned out my jewelry box and sent in Greg’s old college ring as well as single earrings, broken chains, etc., within 10 days I received a check for $450. Not bad for ten minutes of work. I only have five chains this time so am not expecting much, but that’s okay. Anything is better than having the stuff sitting in a drawer collecting dust.

I also spent a bunch of time on Pinterest gathering organizing ideas from others, then immediately gathered my coupons and headed to Bed Bath and Beyond where I picked up an over the door organizer which I’ve put on the back of my coat closet. The closet is already fairly organized but this item gave me a place for hats, visors, fanny packs (my kids hate that I actually have them), ribbon, and a few other odds and ends. See for yourself.

Of course, what I really want is a totally organized linen closet. Though mine isn’t in disarray, when I see pictures like this one I practically drool. Who knows, maybe this will be the year I’ll get around to working on it.

So here I am performing some minor do-overs in my home. And boy does it feel good! But there are other kinds of do-overs that are even better – the ones given by God. And the best part is that He gives them every day. Check out these verses from Lamentations 3:20-25:

Lord, remember my suffering and my misery, my sorrow and trouble.Please remember me and think about me. But I have hope when I think of this: The Lord’s love never ends; his mercies never stop.They are new every morning; Lord, your loyalty is great. I say to myself, “The Lord is mine, so I hope in him.” The Lord is good to those who hope in him, to those who seek him. (New Century Version)

Remembering those verses should help bring peace to our sleep and a brighter outlook for tomorrow.

Each day may we grow more aware of God’s presence and beautiful fragrance in our lives.

Mimi

One thought on “Do-Overs

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

