Should’ve, could’ve, would’ve.ah, those senior moments.

I had a wonderful day with the boys on Monday. And by day’s end I already had the blog outline in my head and it centered on experiences shared with Callan. This was great because since he’s still so young and on the quiet side, often he’s overshadowed by the gregarious actions and vocabulary of big brother Konnor. But not this Monday. Callan actually showed me several pictures of Christ in his behavior and I just couldn’t wait to write them down Monday and share them with you Tuesday.

But should’ve, would’ve, could’ve…they would have been great thoughts to share if only I had written them down. They call our new phones smartphones but they’re only as smart as the ones operating them and this week I didn’t jot down my blog ideas so by the time I got home and sat in front of my computer my great blog ideas with my stories of Callan and pictures of Christ’s love for us were all gone. Like mature dandelions blowing in the wind, poof, gone. And there’s been nothing since. I’ve purposely waited an extra few days hoping I’d remember, but still nothing. Ah, those senior moments, ever increasing, ever dreaded.

So often I think about what my grandchildren do for me, what they give to me. And they give me plenty. This weekend my heart is already filled with expectation because I get to see my sweet baby girl. It’s been six weeks and these arms are aching to hold her and to watch her roll over, see her silly grins, hear her laughter. It won’t be long now, just a few more days.

But in the meantime, I’ve wondered what they’ll think about me in future years. When they hear the name Mimi said, what thoughts will fill their minds? Which leads me to the word LEGACY. Most dictionaries give similar definitions but I like this one best: Something that someone has achieved that continues to exist after they stop working or die.

So my question to myself this week is “What legacy do I leave behind each time I visit my grandchildren?” And ultimately, “What legacy will I leave behind when I leave this earth?”

I don’t mind being remembered as the grandma who made pancakes for lunch instead of breakfast (as we did on Monday), or the grandma who finds chocolate in the ears of her toddlers. I love being the grandma who knows how to find treasures while taking a walk such as a dried out snake skins (yup, we did that on Monday, too) or the grandma who makes shadow animals on the walls using a flashlight. But those are just fond memories. For my legacy I want more. I want to be remembered for who I am, rather than for what I did.

So…who am I? I am a child of God. I love God. And I love others. My legacy should be that I really know how to love. My legacy should be that I can model Christ to others to give them hope and point them toward God. I am a woman of joy so my legacy should be that I leave joy everywhere I go. I am a servant of God so part of my legacy should be that I serve others and therefore inspire them to serve as well. I am a caretaker, looking out for those who need extra help, extending that help in a kind-hearted, loving way.

There are lots of other attributes of Christ that should be present in my life but you catch my drift. The person I am meant to be and the legacy I should be concerned about leaving behind is the life of Christ.

The New Life Version of the Bible, Colossians 1:27b: “Christ in you brings hope of all the great things to come.” Now that’s a legacy to leave behind – hope for others of great things to come.

Lord, may I mature in you so that when I leave this world, I truly leave behind more than wonderful memories. May I leave behind a great legacy of hope and example for my grandchildren, their parents, and others my life has come in contact with.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

