Mom really does know best!

So here’s the scoop – Mom’s know best. And I’m not the mom here so I did not know best.

Our little guy Callan is a foodie big time. This wee one loves to eat and until Monday I’ve never seen him turn down anything. But now I know…no chunks. It was going on lunchtime and I grabbed the first thing my hand touched in the pantry. It looked appropriate as it stated for it was for children eight months and up, it was veggie lasagna, which sounded delish, and since Callan has a mouth full of teeth it seemed  just perfect.

Bib on. Check. Child buckled in high chair. Check. Food in bowl with spoon at the ready. Check. Insert food laden spoon in mouth…uh oh. Back out it comes accompanied by a face of great despair that seemed to say “Chunks, are you kidding me? I don’t do chunks!” And yes, indeed, there were whole corn kernels on the spoon and fast as I shoveled them in, back out they came. It didn’t take this grandma very long to figure out that nothing was going down into his little tummy. So it was quick change to plan B—some kind of pureed veggie/fruit combo that hit the spot. And once again I had a happy camper on my hands.

As you can tell from the picture I have included, Callan studies the refrigerator like some children would be study the offerings at Toys R Us. See—I told you, he’s a total foodie! A future chef? A restaurant critic? Or just someone who will enjoy what’s set before him…we don’t know, but it sure is fun to watch him develop his palate. (No worries Callan, Mimi promises to leave the corn on the pantry shelf…at least for a little while longer.)

I couldn’t help but compare what happened with Callan’s lunch to trust. He totally and completely trusts me. Mimi holds a spoon and it always contains something yummy. He opens his mouth and is rewarded with something he enjoys. No so on Monday. Poor guy. Imagine his surprise when it was not at all what he anticipated.

Life does that to us, too, at times. Perhaps it’s a person who disappoints. Or a work situation. Whatever the case may be, trust has been broken and you find yourself disappointed. Like Callan you ended up with chunks instead of the smooth puree you anticipated.

You’re not alone. We all feel this way and God often talked about the issue of trust, reassuring us that he understood and was there for us in our time of need. Thought I usually just include one Bible verse, today I’m including all of Psalm 56 from the translation The Message – it’s just so good I don’t want to leave out even one word. See if you can relate.

Take my side, God—I’m getting kicked around, stomped on every day. Not a day goes by but somebody beats me up; they make it their duty to beat me up. When I get really afraid I come to you in trust. I’m proud to praise God; fearless now, I trust in God. What can mere mortals do? They don’t let up— they smear my reputation and huddle to plot my collapse. They gang up, sneak together through the alleys to take me by surprise, wait their chance to get me.

(Cindi: I love this part – it’s just so raw) Pay them back in evil! Get angry, God! Down with these people!

You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn through the sleepless nights, each tear entered in your ledger, each ache written in your book.  If my enemies run away, turn tail when I yell at them, then I’ll know that God is on my side.

I’m proud to praise God, proud to praise God. Fearless now, I trust in God; what can mere mortals do to me?  God, you did everything you promised, and I’m thanking you with all my heart. You pulled me from the brink of death, my feet from the cliff-edge of doom. Now I stroll at leisure with God in the sunlit fields of life.

What a great reminder. Sometimes life really does throw you for a loop and you feel as if the rug was pulled out from under you. But don’t despair loved one. God is still there and still completely trustworthy. Pray Psalm 56; yes even the verse about asking God to pay back your enemies with evil. God understands your feelings. It’s okay to be honest with him. Together we’ll experience his trustworthiness and see just how faithful he is to those he loves.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

