Jesus, where are you?

In the still of the night my mind cluttered with thoughts

Of the approaching season and the gifts to be bought.

There are lists to be made and things to be done,

Never enough time – certainly no fun.

 

Jumbled thoughts steal my time and my plans go awry.

I meant to be with You Lord – I did! my heart cries.

Yet somehow the busy-ness and crowds came right in

And took up the space where You should have been.

 

“Jesus where are you?” my heart longs to shout.

Do You have anything to do with all that’s about?

We say it’s because of You that we rush and we spend

Vast amounts of money, much more than we intend.

 

A gift for Sally and Susan and John.

One more for Mary and Alice and Tom.

Quick back a cookie, trim a tree, tie a bow.

Christmas will be here before you know.

 

Christmas day dawns, everything is all set.

The presents are bought – wrapped all pretty and yet

As I look through each room and the preparations I’ve done.

There’s just one thing still missing – Jesus, God’s Son!

 

It seems I made time for the pies, gifts, and friends.

But what it boils down to right in the end

In the midst of the rush and the gifts and the carols

I left out the One whose birth angels herald.

 

It is this One who the season should be about.

Let’s forget all the rest and His praises shout!

Yes, the presents are fine and the food is great, too,

But Jesus was born – for me and for you!

 

Let’s remember His birth in 2011.

Let’s remember God’s gifts to us – Jesus and Heaven!

Let’s not get caught up in all the ways of the Earth

But rejoice that in Jesus we have second birth!

                    Cindi, originally written in 1995

One thought on “Jesus, where are you?

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

