Life is good

John & Bert Jacobs have become famous by sharing their simple message of optimism. Their Life is good slogan has catapulted them to fame!

And this is indeed just how I’m feeling today!

At the bank I ran into someone I hadn’t seen in years. We hugged, exchanged greetings, and then I launch into “I’m a grandma now, three times over.” And it really surprised me…quite pleasantly I might add.

I realized right then how much I love being a grandma. Take away my job, take away my home, take my car, doesn’t matter. I’m a grandma and no one can take that away.

So just what is it about being a grandma that’s so wonderful? It’s being loved unconditionally. It’s knowing I can make a difference in a young one’s life. It’s knowing I’m cherished. It’s the look of completely joy on the little ones’ faces when I show up. It’s getting to act silly and play make believe. It’s cuddles in bed, and hugs around the neck. It’s singing loudly in the car with your oldest to a song you’ve sung at least 3000 times. It’s getting on the floor and lifting up a toddler with your feet to play airplane. And it’s going home exhausted and with lower back pain because you’re not as young as you once were but knowing it’s all worth it.

Yup, that’s what being a grandma is to me and I’M LOVING IT!

Before I sign off, I’m encouraging all grandmas and grandpas to visit the website Tatertots and Jello (http://tatertotsandjello.com/). You’ll find some great craft ideas, one of which is a Christmas tree made out of Christmas muffin liners. Though no crafter I was still able to end up with four adorable trees in about 45 minutes. It would be a fun way to spend some time with your little one.

Mimi

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

