I’ve just got to have it all!

This was Konnor’s one-liner of the day. And it was hysterical to hear. I wish there was some way to have recorded what he said and more importantly how he said it so I could post it with the blog. Here’s what happened.

Konnor had his step stool in the kitchen this morning while helping me make scrambled eggs. He kept it there all day and from time to time would climb up and look through one of the many Christmas catalogs scattered on the counter.

The catalog that held the most interest was full of toys. They had some amazing and unusual toys, too. Several times I’d hear Konnor call out “Mimi, can I have this one? This is the coolest.” Or “How about this one? Yes, I want this one.” At one point he even shouted out “Can you call Santa and tell him I want THIS one?”

I had to chuckle at all this. Last year was the first year Konnor had any understanding of Christmas and that you often get lots of gifts and some really great ones, too. Here we are a year later and Konnor, even before Halloween, is quite focused on the approaching December holiday and actually quite excited about it.

So after three or four catalog sessions today, he was on overload. By this point everything looked great and he just wanted every single thing he saw. As I walked past him he enthusiastically began pointing and telling me (yet again) just which toys he wanted. But he was so excited that he was stumbling over his words and thoughts and as he kept trying to tell me everything he wanted, he finally just shook his little head, held up his hands in a shrugging motion and declared “I’ve just got to have it all!”

Now how funny is that! Of course he has to have it all. Because it all looks so wonderful. How could a three-year-old possibly choose just one or two items from a magic book (catalog) filled with fabulous items that he would love to have?

And while it’s easy to laugh at the exuberance of a little one, I think as adults we, too, sometimes want it all. We want the successful career, the kids to be straight-A students, money in the bank, exotic vacations every year, a big house, a fancy car, five-star restaurants, and on and on.

Question: How much is enough?

It’s not that I think it’s wrong to have stuff or even lots of stuff, but sometimes we lose sight of what we DO have. I know I do. We can become envious of what we perceive is making others happy. We may even change our priorities to attain some sort of goal only to find that instead of getting to enjoy those greener pastures, we are now stressed from all our efforts and have missed the wonderful blessings already staring us in the face.

If given a choice, what child wouldn’t give up the latest toy to instead have more time with Mom or Dad? And a child who grows up in a small house filled with love is a lot better off than one who grows up in a huge house without that love. And as an adult I need to remember this simple truth: that having it all does not guarantee a happy life. I need to remember it for me and I need to remember it for my kids and grandkids.

The blessings in life are not the material items we accumulate on our journey but rather the result of our many experiences we have that shape us into the image of Christ. And for these we should be very grateful.

Matthew 5: The Beatitudes (New International Version)

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me.

Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

4 thoughts on “I’ve just got to have it all!

  1. Very thought-provoking post. Personally my strategy for not overloading my life with stuff is simple. I stay out of the stores. When I go on vacation, I enjoy the scenery instead of shopping. When I do have to shop, I do most of it online. And if I’m considering a major purchase, I give it plenty of time, to avoid buyer’s remorse.

    • You are a faithful reader Susan. Thank you. It’s taken me quite some time to learn to relax in life – unfortunately, I tend to be one of those who thinks the grass is greener somewhere else. It’s such a lie! I like your strategy so much…to enjoy the scenery along the journey of life makes every moment precious rather than thinking it’s only the goal that matters.

  2. I love this one, Cindi! You DO have a video of it with sound, only it is in your memory bank, ready to take out and replay at will!! ‘Course it sure would be great to be able to see and hear it myself!

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

