Building a treasure chest of memories.

I’m not really that obsessed with getting older. Yes, I’m closing in on 60, but I don’t spend a lot of time dwelling on it. What I do think about is that I have limited time left on this earth. I’m hoping for at least 30 years but you never know…

And with that frame of mind it becomes most important to me to enjoy every moment with my loved ones and build a treasure chest of memories.

And that includes all the silly, fun stuff I get to enjoy as a grandma such as this morning. In what’s become our typical Monday routine, Konnor jumps into bed with me at around 6:20am and snuggles as close as he can possibly get. He caresses my arm and tells me things such as “I sleep all night in my bed” or “Can we go to Publix today?” And then out of the blue, without having seen my feet (which, by the way, were completely covered up), he blurts out “I love your toes, Mimi.”

Really? Did my three-year old grandson just say that? And why? Who knows? All I know is that it was sweet and heartfelt and as precious to me as if he had said I was the most beautiful grandma in the whole world.

Now, I tell you, is that not a great way to start a day?

Those five words (“I love your toes, Mimi.”) were a gift from God, a reminder that he cares about every part of my life. He thought enough of me today to give me the blessing of that sweet Konnor-ism. And God thinks the same about you. My heart rejoices in who God is, how loving, how kind, how involved in my life, and my heart echoes verse 5 from Psalm 40:

O Lord my God, you have performed many wonders for us.
Your plans for us are too numerous to list.
You have no equal.
If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds,
I would never come to the end of them.

2 thoughts on “Building a treasure chest of memories.

  1. That is indeed a precious memory to have in your treasure chest. And, by blogging about it, you have ensured that you will remember it or at least have a record of it. One more reason to become a grandparent blogger!

  2. Dear Cindi, I am blessed again by your sharing of time with your grandbabies. I am trying to remember you toes. How could I have missed their beauty???

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

