Hey, I’m baaaaaack.

Two weeks ago was my first solo with both boys. Kate returned to work and I returned to babysitting by myself. I knew it would be tiring and boy was I right! I had watched Kate do such a good job juggling work, house stuff, and the demands of an active almost three-year-old with the demands of a newborn and I knew it would be challenging. And it was. Not in a bad way, just more than this grandma has been used to.

So no cute stories to share from that day because I was just trying to be a good stand-in for Kate, and feeling oh so inadequate. And I was so intent on learning the best way to care for the grandkids that I don’t think I really paid much attention to all the cuteness that surrounded me. Then last weekend was Independence Day and there was no need for my services.

So I’m back in the saddle, having just arrived home a few hours ago. It’s so different with two children. The baby is just so adorable and has the best gummy smiles that he offers frequently. And my Konnor Finn all of a sudden looks like a little boy rather than a toddler – tall and thin, and full of spunk.

Callan loves to eat, and often, too. So here’s a hint for you grandmas who find yourselves taking care of hungry little ones: be prepared with the next bottle. I can’t stress this enough. Anticipate and have it ready at the right temperature so that when your wee one starts hollering out in frustration and hunger you can meet the need without delay. Thankfully Kate had all the bottles in the fridge but once or twice during the day I neglected to anticipate and couldn’t work fast enough to get them ready. No worries, Callan let me know he was unhappy at my lack of preparedness!

Meanwhile, Konnor kept me in stitches all day. He was not only an early talker, but was also early with an extended vocabulary. He remembers everything including words that aren’t part of his traditional vocabulary. One of the first things he did when I arrived was to scrunch my face in his hands, look at my eyes (I had just had a blepharoplasty) and ask sincerely, “How’s your surgery?” Now how precious is that? And how did he ever remember a word like surgery?

But of great fun today was his humor in making up variations of my grandma name (Mimi). He would call me Memola or Meemaw, and his favorite was Meems.

It reminded me of his mommy who, over the years, has made up all sorts of nicknames for family and friends alike. My own parents were called Grandma and Grandpa but over the years it’s become G’pa, or Geepa, or Grams, or just plain Gee. So I guess the tradition continues with Konnor.

And my thoughts on it? I love it. Konnor would get so tickled with each new name he made up. He’d giggle and say it again and again, almost like trying on shoes before you pick the perfect pair to purchase. He went through each name, watching me for my reaction, but when he got to Meems he shook his head yes; apparently he liked that one best.

I have a feeling I’m going to be learning a lot over the next few months and I hope to share those tidbits with you. We grandparents need each other for support, for encouragement, for hints and suggestions. Feel free to comment and share from your own experience.

2 thoughts on “Hey, I’m baaaaaack.

  1. What a great post! I admire you so much for being able to handle a newborn and a toddler. I don’t think I could do it any more.

    You are also right about nicknames being a great family tradition. My father-in-law had a special nickname for each of the grandkids, and to this day recalling those names will bring a tear to their eye. My oldest grandchild calls me Grannie Pie, and no need to tell you what that means to me!

    • Susan, what a sweet note you wrote. Thank you for taking the time to read AND comment. I love the name Grannie Pie. And I know the wonderful feeling in your heart when your oldest calls you that. Today my little guy not only continued to call me Meems or Meemzie, but he started calling his Pop Pop (my hubby) Pops. It was so endearing.

      This grandparenting role is one of the sweetest I’ve experienced in my life. How blessed we are!

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

