I had such a perfect weekend. I really did!

Nothing major happened and we didn’t go anywhere special or do anything out of the ordinary. But all sorts of little things ended up providing me a very sweet couple of days.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, English poet and author of “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” sums it up like this: “The happiness of life is made up of minute fractions—the little soon forgotten charities of a kiss or smile, a kind look, a heartfelt compliment, and the countless infinitesimal of pleasurable and genial feeling.”

Here are a few of my own weekend’s “little soon forgotten charities”:

It’s time to paint the master bedroom. Many husbands don’t really get involved in the choices or shopping but how precious that I have a hubby who not only will paint the room but treks with me from store to store looking at bedding and window treatments. And while it was lovely that we found our new bedding, the best part was just being together.

We have some wonderful friends we enjoying spending time with and usually we manage to share a meal with them each weekend at a local restaurant. But this weekend they cooked for us. All we had to do was show up. It’s always nice spending time with friends but this weekend was made even more special with the way they took such good care of us.

Today we invited Kate and family over. And I decided I wouldn’t shop for anything. I would only use what was already in my freezer or refrigerator. And we had a great, great time. Konnor spent hours in the pool, Greg and Chris grilled some burgers, and we ate outside, enjoying the breeze and gorgeous Florida weather.

And yet there was one more little kindness to come my way: a bike ride to CVS. I needed to go AND I needed to exercise. Knowing I had no motivation to hit the treadmill I asked Greg if he’d ride with me—and he said YES. By now the air was cooler and the ride was so pleasant. Greg could have reminded me that he gets up early (4:30AM) and he certainly had every right to veg out for a bit but instead he accompanied me. I got the exercise, we picked up what we needed at the store, and most importantly, my husband honored me by choosing me above all else.

Often we think we need to make big statements, buy big gifts, or put on the best meal ever. When very often the little things make the biggest impact. This weekend, four relatively small experiences ended up reminding me in a very big way that: I am loved; my husband values me; spending time with my family is just the best thing; and God has blessed me with some very special friends.

Now you can see why I said I had a perfect weekend!

2 thoughts on “I had such a perfect weekend. I really did!

  1. Cindi, you have such a wonderful way of focusing on the little things and being thankful for them. You’re a lesson for us all. Your blog is such a great way for us to “keep up with you.”

  2. Your “perfect weekend” blog is definitely going to make many of your female readers appreciate the little things their husbands do for them and with them. We just needed reminding! Thanks, Cindi!

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

