It’s all in the packaging!

One of the first fruits Konnor enjoyed eating as a youngster was smashed banana. As he grew older he would eat pieces of banana cut up on a plate. But somewhere around 18 months he decided he no longer liked bananas. He was always intrigued by them in the store and would point them out but if given one to eat, he would merely hold it like a gun. Eat them? No way. Until the other night.

I arrived with three bananas in tow – not real pretty, a bit tired looking and ready to be turned into banana bread. I had them on the counter where Konnor saw them and proceeded to ask for one. I thought he wanted to play with it, but he ended up peeling it halfway and eating it with the “petal” peels falling over his fingers. I could hardly believe it. Konnor eating a banana? Are you kidding me?

But not only did he eat that banana, he ended up eating a second, and then the third the next day. So much for banana bread!

What was it about these bananas that enticed him to eat than compared to the firm, bright yellow ones I had cut up for him over the past year? Not much as far as I could tell other than they were whole bananas and he ate them in a different way: holding and peeling them like a grown-up. It’s got to be about the packaging because there was no other reason for him to try one, let alone eat all three!

When I looked at that banana with its brown spots and mushy feel, my assumption was that it was well-past its prime for eating as a fruit and just about ready to be disguised in a sweet bread recipe. But Konnor saw beyond the appearance, knowing there was still a treasure of goodness inside.

There’s a great verse in the Bible that illustrates exactly what Konnor seemed to know intuitively. It was time to choose a king and “the LORD told him, ‘Samuel, don’t think Eliab is the one just because he’s tall and handsome. He isn’t the one I’ve chosen. People judge others by what they look like, but I judge people by what is in their hearts’” (I Samuel 16:7, Contemporary English Version).

What a great reminder about what’s really important. How often have I made assumptions about people and circumstances based on appearance alone? My prayer is that like Konnor with the bananas, I will see beyond what is apparent, and search for the hidden treasure within.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

