It doesn’t take a boatload of money…

On my way to see my grandchildren (and daughter) today, I realized I’d like to provide a little treat—something fun and unexpected to brighten the day of Konnor and Mommy. But the road I take is kind of a back road and there’s not a lot of shopping options along the way, especially early in the morning.

Dunkin’ Donuts to the rescue. I had forgotten they were on the way and sure enough, it was an easy in and out, and I was back on the road in no time. Now, I didn’t want my two-year-old to eat an entire sugar filled donut but a Munchkin or two would be perfect. Of course, as soon as I got in the shop and looked at the menu I noted you could purchase 25 or 45. Yikes! That’s a lot of Munchkins for a little guy and his mommy and Mimi. What to do?

Ask. Simple enough. So I asked if there was something smaller than 25 for my little grandson and the server said sure, they sell me 10 for $1. It was the perfect number of Munchkins and a buck was something this grandma was happy to hand over in return for these yummy delights.

So what’s the lesson? The lesson is that it doesn’t take much to bring a little sunshine into someone’s life. Konnor was delighted with his little donut treats and this grandma enjoyed her share, too.

I don’t know if you’re like me, but many times I think I have to do something grand – you know, for the big “ooh and ahh” factor. A new outfit, when a pair of socks would be just as treasured. A cool bike when a walk around the block with grandma would be just as special. Or even a meal out at a fancy restaurant when an ice cream at McDonalds would accomplish the same thing: one-on-one time with someone you care about.

I’m thankful for today’s reminder that it’s more about being with your loved ones than about the grandness of a gift or the amount of money spent. It’s a great lesson—not just in relation to grandchildren but for all of our relationships.

The Bible says in Matthew 6:21 (The Message) “The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be.” I can say a hearty amen to that because one of my favorite places to be is with my grandchildren – my treasures.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

