Callan Lost His Belly Button Stump Today

That’s the text I just got from my daughter. And the minute I got it I ran to hubby and read it to him. And we smiled and cheered. In fact, my husband had a little giggle in his voice when he cheered.

And my next thought was “How funny is that—that our grandson’s belly button stump falls off and we’re just as proud as if he were elected president of the United States. And yet, that’s the joy of being a grandparent.

It’s not about all the big stuff, although that’s certainly fun. But it’s the everyday things that sometimes are even more meaningful.

For a while, I would check in with my daughter every few days to ask what fun things Konnor had done or said lately. And she always had something to share. That’s one of the reasons I started writing this blog: so I wouldn’t forget and so I would have a written record of all this cuteness.

When your little one squeezes your wrinkled face in his hands, kissing you on the lips while declaring “Mimi, you are beautiful” or when your two year old proudly declares “Mimi, I farted” or when you find yourself sneaking into the bedroom just to watch your loved one sleeping all curled up with his hands under his belly—that’s the stuff I live for. That’s what brings a smile to this grandma’s face. Those are the moments I don’t ever want to lose because each one is so very precious to me.

So a belly button stump falling off is definitely to be celebrated and if I was with him right now I’d have probably taken a picture to include with this blog post so all the world could see his new little, beautiful belly button – a permanent reminder of just how miraculous each life is, created by a very loving heavenly Father.

From precious Psalm 139:

“You created the deepest parts of my being. You put me together inside my mother’s body. How you made me is amazing and wonderful. I praise you for that. What you have done is wonderful. I know that very well.

“None of my bones was hidden from you when you made me inside my mother’s body. That place was as dark as the deepest parts of the earth. When you were putting me together there, your eyes saw my body even before it was formed.

“You planned how many days I would live. You wrote down the number of them in your book before I had lived through even one of them.

“God your thoughts about me are priceless. No one can possibly add them all up. If I could count them, they would be more than the grains of sand.”

One thought on “Callan Lost His Belly Button Stump Today

  1. Oh my my, this is the first time I’ve read a blog of a grandma who feels the way I do. What an amazing adventure this experience is! my first grandbaby was born just 2 months ago. My life will never be the same. I put up an entry just a few days ago on my facebook page leading to my own blog, using Psalm 139 as well. http://faithinfusedlife.com/?p=103 There is nothing nothing nothing like being a grandma, Gigi I’m called. I sat with my little grandbaby this afternoon and just rocked and rocked taking in her scent as she slept. Lovely!
    I’m interested in following you and seeing how, if at all, things change as more grandchildren are added to the family. I feel like I’ve found someone who understands!!!! 🙂
    Gigi

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

