Tuesday Was Tender

All day yesterday I kept thinking of that 1969 movie “If it’s Tuesday, this must be Belgium.” That’s because I changed my sitting schedule this week and I kept thinking it was Monday, not Tuesday. The change was so Konnor and I could hopefully sign up for the upcoming Mommy & Me class starting next week at nearby facility. There were few openings so it was important to be there right at 8am Tuesday when new sign-ups began. Turns out there was only one opening and yup, we were able to snatch it and starting next week Konnor and I will be attending “Mimi & Me” for the next ten weeks. Crafts and activities with other toddlers should translate to a great time for both of us.

On the way home from sign-ups, I was talking to Konnor about names – how his mommy has another name (Kate) and how I am his Mimi but I am Kate’s mommy. I’m sure this is all very confusing to a two-year-old but I know at some point he’ll understand all the family connections. I also told him children have all sorts of names for their grandparents. I reminded him that he has a Grammy and a Mimi and that my friend is called Nana by her grandchildren. Though I was driving and couldn’t see his face, I could imagine his little brow furrowed with thought, until he finally asked “Banana?”

How funny! In his mind he had never heard of the word Nana unless it was associated with fruit. As with many children, Konnor couldn’t say ‘banana’ for the longest time so it came out as ‘nana.’ So dear Jan, I hope you chuckle knowing that when Konnor meets you, he’ll most likely be picturing the fruit instead of another grandma!

Though Konnor is feeling much better, he is still a bit under the weather which meant continued cuddle time since he wasn’t up to his normal activities. The sweetest part of this was while we both sat in the recliner. Konnor turned around to face me and with his two chubby hands repeatedly mushed my lips together bringing them to his slobbery, snot covered mouth to kiss me. Yeah, at first it was kind of gross and I wondered how many of his cold germs were finding their way into me, but then I began treasuring the tenderness of this very special moment. My grandson was being affectionate with me and no snot or slobber was going to make me end this enchanting moment.

Konnor’s delightful kisses reminded me that Jesus always welcomed children and actually forbid his disciples from sending them away. Matthew 19:13-14 states “One day some parents brought their children to Jesus so he could lay his hands on them and pray for them. But the disciples scolded the parents for bothering him. But Jesus said, ‘Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.’”

Children are so free they don’t often think about how dirty they are or if their faces are covered in snot or slobber. What a beautiful reminder this was yesterday not only of Konnor’s love for me, but of God’s love for me. He is not unapproachable, nor is He waiting for me to clean-up before I come to Him; I could never be clean enough! But He wants me just the same: snot, slobber, and all.

Would love to hear from you. Please feel free to share your thoughts.

